queenslayerbee: Isabelle Adjany as Lucy Harker in 1979's "Nosferatu the Vampire". She's surrounded by darkness, looking over her shoulder while she wears a white nightgown and a cross as a necklace. A hand with long nails like a claw is reaching for her neck from the darkness behind her. (Default)

I gave myself a prompt challenge back in January, during the Snowflake event over Dreamwidth, and finally completed and posted them \o/

queenslayerbee: Isabelle Adjany as Lucy Harker in 1979's "Nosferatu the Vampire". She's surrounded by darkness, looking over her shoulder while she wears a white nightgown and a cross as a necklace. A hand with long nails like a claw is reaching for her neck from the darkness behind her. (Default)
The "Bruce is a girldad and suuuuuch a good father to Cass" takes are irksome and inaccurate and often used as a crutch to write Cass in without actually having to put any effort on her character in Batfamily/Batboys centric fics. Most troubling, even at its more earnest when it's done by genuine Cass fans, it operates on the premise that Cass matters because she matters to Bruce (who, despite David Cain setting the bar at approximately the height of the Earth's core, still managed to pull a few outstanding performances. Read Batgirl00, it's good).
 
This is incredibly common across the board when it comes to female characters of colour with strong ties to important white male characters, regardless of the nature of such ties. Audience racism very much manifest in her detractors doing everything in their hands to deny those ties, to minimise them and instead elevate the importance of the man's relationship with another white character. But the opposite reaction from her fans (including, for characters in worse positions, trying to link them to a guy via rareships and the like) still accepts the premise that proximity to the white man is the winning ticket. 
 
Which... oftentimes isn't an inaccurate premise; many, many canons definitely support and reinforce that mentality. Fans aren't making it up in their own heads; they're reacting and simply want their faves to "win" the game. I've been there. 
 
But it tends to come with a stubborn denial that the game exists, and that it is rigged, and that there are BETTER possibilities for female characters. That there are bigger victories for them outside these confines and that they can be worthwhile characters in their own right. The start of the show, instead of acting as if being chosen as the plus one is the greatest role they can aspire to.

tv update

Mar. 9th, 2025 01:52 pm
queenslayerbee: Lisa simpson dressed in a multicoloured baggy shirt, with a sideways cap and sunglasses, and a disaffected look on her face. (lisa simpson (the simpsons))
Between one thing and another I've barely read this week, but this past month or so I've watched some tv here and there and I thought I'd talk a bit about them. 
  • I continue to watch Severance and love it. The last two episodes have SO much to them: expansion on the world building, answers, yet more questions... all while putting front and center two female characters of the sort that rarely get that place, and being superbly filmed while at it. I am eagerly awaiting the next two episodes, and already anticipating how hard it'll be to wait for another season LOL. I caught up with season 1 right on time to watch the finale premier and oh boy, that was hard xD
  • I've started The Pitt, a medical drama where each episode is a "real time" hour for the characters in the emergency room, with the season being just ONE shift in their lives. It's pretty intense and realistic, with many interesting characters, and really good at playing with audience's biases. It's apparently been renewed for a second season (I've heard they weren't sure/weren't expecting that, and season 1 seems to be filmed with that in mind). I'm curious of what that'll mean going forward, because idk if this format, which is what has made the show stand out in its subgenre, can sustain itself for so long. We'll see. Noah Wyle plays the lead character, btw: the attending in charge, still traumatised by his experiences during the earlier days of the pandemic, with this shift being the anniversary of his mentor's death at that time. I never watched ER, but I know it's a classic among medical shows, so maybe some will entice some.
  • I FINALLY got around watching the first season of Twin Peaks. It's a very, very charming show, in its way. I find Laura and Audrey in particular fascinating, and like Cooper even more than I expected. I'll continue to watch, despite hearing mixed things on the rest of the show, I think it'll be worth it. Though first I might try to finish Kevin Can Fuck Himself.

Later today I'll be going to a live play for free. The last two I've attended this year were either attrocious or mediocre, so wish me luck LOL.
queenslayerbee: Lisa simpson dressed in a multicoloured baggy shirt, with a sideways cap and sunglasses, and a disaffected look on her face. (lisa simpson (the simpsons))
This week I devoured Harrow the Ninth and absolutely loved it. I liked the first book, but this novel took the series to another level. I quite enjoyed getting to read something a little different, and piecing together the answers by the information that slowly trickled chapter after chapter. I want to read something else in between this and the third installment, but I can't wait to read that one. I look forward to catching up and finally being able to look at what my TLT mutuals have been saying without fearing getting myself spoioled LOL.

I also read a few short stories by the same author: Chew and The Woman in the Hill, two independent stories both available in Nightmare Magazine, and The Mysterious Study of Doctor Sex, set in TLT universe, a little tale of an adventure Camilla and Palmedes have as teens that shows a bit of how the Sixth House works. 

What I've picked for the in-between of TLT was a reread of The Clan of the Cave Bear. There's a good chance I might only read that first book, but who knows. Maybe this time around I finish the saga. I think I made it to the beginning of the 5th book, back when I first picked them as a preteen. 

And I've started Yellowface, which has been on my TBR for a while. R. F. Kuang seems to be a hit-or-miss for people, as an author, but that first chapter and the narrator's voice hooked me immediately. I'm not surprised, because a friend of mine read it over a year ago and shared some quotes that felt very, very promising.

On the non-fiction side of things, I finished The Feminist Killjoy Handbook by Sara Ahmed, which I wholeheartedly recommend. I also read a few hand-picked essay chapters from larger books: Hélène Cixoux's "Coming to Writing", which will merit a second, more paused read to digest every bit, and Tricia Lootens's "Whose Hand Was I Holding?: Familial and Sexual Politics in Shirley Jackson's The Haunting of Hill House"

Comics-wise, there's not much to tell. I continue to enjoy Absolute Wonder Woman. I'm keeping up with Iron Man and the West Coast Avengers runs; they're better than most Tony runs of the recent past LOL, but I might only give them a few more issues to impress me. And I'll probably stop reading Wayne Family Adventures until the arc is over, at least, because the last few issues have done little more than aggravate me, and I have a firm "if it sucks, hit da bricks" philosophy with comic books.
queenslayerbee: Encarna covers her head partially with a veil, dressed in black, to offer a poisoned apple to Blancanieves after she’s finished in the bull ring. Everything in the image is in black and white, like in the film, but everything except encarna is blurred, and the apple looks crimson red. (encarna (blancanieves))
Yesterday I finally watched La virgen roja ("the red virgin"), a Spanish film based on the story of Aurora and Hildegart Rodríguez Carballeira, a mother-daughter duo who lived in the early 20th century, specifically set during the time of the Second Republic.
 
I have mixed feelings about this film. On the one hand, I think it is a good film. Stunning visuals, compelling acting, and a good soundtrack that all together immerse you in its period, which is what I ask of historical fiction. But as historical fiction, its adherence to facts is something that merits its own scrutiny, separatedly, or maybe in addition, its artistic value (something I do not dispute). 
 
It focuses on a harrowing and rarely discussed event; despite generally being interested in this period and it hitting, frankly, an eerily accurate interesction of my interests, I only found out about it on January of last year. The film reignited my interest, and I'm sure it's awakened many others', which is a huge point in its favour. But it's also made me think about how women's narratives are told, the shape they form, and why that is; something I think about a lot, regardless, but of which this particular film has become a good case of study.
 
To be as brief as possible: Aurora raised Hildegart on her own, conceiving her with eugenist goals in mind, desiring to shape "the first free woman" who would ~change the world and liberate us. She raised her by strict rules, and the result was a prodigy. Hildegart had a law degree at 17, when she started another few (philology and languages, medicine). She published sixteen monographs and over 150 articles on politics, sexology, and other matters. She participated in politics, joining leftist parties and advocating for women's liberation. She spoke multiple languages and wrote and established professional relationships with famous authors of the time, such as H.G. Wells or Havelock Ellis. 
 
On June 9th, 1933, at the age of 18, Hildegart was murdered by her mother while she slept. 
 
The facts as we know it paint a picture of a rapidly deteriorating relationship. Aurora was extremely controlling, and as she grew into adulthood, Hildegart chaffed more and more against it. Things came to a head when H.G. Wells invited Hildegart to come with him to England, and not Aurora, something that would let her step free from her mother's shadow in a definite way, and that increased Aurora's rapidly growing paranoia about people wanting to steal her daughter. As well as, possibly, her disappointed in Hildegart herself: she apparently described her as a "failed project" and, as an sculpture who sees an "imperfection" in their work, tore it down. 
 
The movie, rather than in Hildegart's professional ambitions, or in an intrinsic desire for freedom after a lifetime of such strict control, put much more focus on a romance.
 
The real facts on this seem dubious at best. There has never been a definite confirmation of its status. Aurora seemingly denied it on the trial and refused to discuss it further; the man himself, a lawyer and leftist politician called Abel Velilla, denied it on an article shortly after Hildegart's death. Given Aurora's... everything, and that Velilla was 13 years older than Hildegart, I don't consider those denials the most trustworthy. And as a narrative, it makes sense. It makes sense that someone like Aurora would consider this one more failure and betrayal on Hildegart's part. It makes sense that Hildegart, 18yo, saw in this man another avenue for freedom. 
 
When I say "it makes sense", I mean that it's a familiar story. A story we've all been familiarised with, have expectations about, and thus, that it makes sense to pull on this thread for a film, a structured, fictionalised story.
 
But I find it a good example of how restricted women's narratives often are. How creatives turn to the familiar, the romance, man and woman, to tell their story. How it romanticises this dynamic (painting them more like peers than a teenager and the 30yo man they were in reality) to portray a classic tale of young love versus jealous and controlling mother. How it blurrs the line of Hildegart's possible infatuation with Abel being a manifestation of her desires to escape her home or the cause of that desire existing at all. 
 
How a story about a woman that removed, or even minimised, the romantical aspect, or treated it more cynically, might have struggled more to find its audience, or even to built up its own narrative, by rebuffing more familiar structures. 
 
Another nitpick I have, less important to me than the above, but plenty relevant in terms of historical fiction trends IMO, is the choice of actresses to portray Aurora and Hildegart. They're good actress and do a good job, to be clear. But boy, they look NOTHING like their real-life counterparts. They're not even prettified-within-characterisation versions, women who look similar but fit beauty standards (and specifically Hollywood beauty standards) much better. They're straight up nothing alike. And with Aurora, I can't help but think this would've been a double-edged sword (I can just imagine what a film would've done with an ugly woman in this role), but with Hildegart, the choice of going with a waif-like actress that in no way looks like the photographs we have of a chubby, baby-faced Aurora seems very, very pointed to me.
queenslayerbee: Isabelle Adjany as Lucy Harker in 1979's "Nosferatu the Vampire". She's surrounded by darkness, looking over her shoulder while she wears a white nightgown and a cross as a necklace. A hand with long nails like a claw is reaching for her neck from the darkness behind her. (Default)
One of my goals for this year was to read more non-fiction, in general -for enjoyment, and not just academic purposes as I've done some past years lol. This past week I finished two non-fiction books, and started another, so I thought I'd post about it a little.

The first of them was "City of Corpses" by Ōta Yōko, recently translated to Spanish. The author, already an established writer by then, was one of the survivors of Hiroshima's bombing, and wrote this book in the immediate months afterwards, convinced she was inevitably going to die from "atomic bomb syndrome", as many others did even when the danger had seemingly passed. She also wrote a short article that avoided the censorship from one or other side by being published at just the right time, "A light as if from the depths", included at the end of my copy. The book itself was censored, and even its first edition omitted some parts as well, which lead to the author publishing a second one later on, aka the one I read. This edition comes with a prologue that really gets into the history of the time: the literature of the atomic bomb and how it was received, Ōta Yōko's complicated journey as an author, etc., which paint a very interesting context. And the novel itself is harrowing, very descriptive, painting a very vivid picture of her mental state as she lived through this. I definitely recommend it.

The other one was "Wonder Woman Unbound: The Curious History of the World's Most Famous Heroine" by Tim Hanley. It's by the same author as "Investigating Lois Lane: The Turbulent History of the Daily Planet's Ace Reporter". That book analysed the complete journey of the heroine, while this one focuses almost exclusively on the pre-crisis time, particularly on Marston (with a full-on psychological profile of the guy LOL). It talks a lot about how "Corruption of the Innocent" and the Comics Code of Conduct shaped comics, of the Golden/Silver/Bronze era of the character, of the Women's Liberation movement and how it intersected (and didn't) with Wonder Woman's development, comparison with other heroines, public perception of the character... Another recommended read if this kind of thing interests you. I'm definitely going to hunt down his other books on DC/comics history.

The one I just started yesterday is "The Feminist Killjoy Handbook" by Sarah Ahmed. I anticipate finishing it this week, because it's quite an engaging read.

On non-fiction news, today my hardcover copies of "Harrow the Ninth" and "Nona the Ninth" arrive! I tried to start HtN on epub format but it's. Probably not a good idea LOL. I got my copies in Spanish as well, because that's how I read the first and eventually I might try to push these books on other people IRL who aren't fluent in English, so.

Lastly, comic-wise I'm keeping up with a few things (what little Jason is doing, Absolute Wonder Woman, Saga, Monstress, The New Gods...) I just started Zatanna's new run, and the first issue looks promising and came with great art. Next thing on the list is to finish reading through the main appearances of Duke Thomas and New Earth!Talia, before I really get on with Wonder Woman comics from all over the place. Recently I read Wonder Woman Historia by Kelly Sue DeConnick, which I loved, and Wonder Woman: The Once and Future Story by Trina Robbins (another author who entered my list thanks to Wonder Woman Unbound), a heavy one-shot about domestic violence. 2025 is going to be Diana's year for me, surely.

After that... we'll see. I've been eyeing Kate Spencer's Manhunter for a while, but there are a few comics I left half-finished that I want to complete, as well (Young Justice '98 and some of its characters' history, the original Suicide Squad, Gotham Central...). The love-hate affair with detective comics comics will continue for a while, suffice to say xD
queenslayerbee: Isabelle Adjany as Lucy Harker in 1979's "Nosferatu the Vampire". She's surrounded by darkness, looking over her shoulder while she wears a white nightgown and a cross as a necklace. A hand with long nails like a claw is reaching for her neck from the darkness behind her. (Default)

I'm asking for stuff about (pre-reboot) DC comics, Severance, Black Sails, The Expanse, Killjoys, or Nikita. Alternatively, you can drop some book recs!

🎁🎁🎁


(after taking a look at other people's boxes I realised I forgot to put ABO in my Do-Not-Wants lmao. Oh well. It IS a female-characters-centric event and people don't go there as much... and ig if they do there's a bigger chance they'll be original about it ñaldkfjasf) 

queenslayerbee: Lisa simpson dressed in a multicoloured baggy shirt, with a sideways cap and sunglasses, and a disaffected look on her face. (lisa simpson (the simpsons))

Here are all the drabbles (exactly 100 words long) I wrote for the event.

BUFFYVERSE

DCU

PLECVERSE

WYNONNA EARP



And here are my own prompts, in case anyone wants to leave me something :P

..


queenslayerbee: peitho and astrea by thegodfather. one girl with eyes closed, illuminated by sunshine, wearing a sunray gold crown. another woman, obscured by shadows, behind her surrounding her neck with one hand and lightly touching her chest with another, with bright red nails. (trapped (house of providence))
I borrowed these from [personal profile] luckyzukky
1) First time you encoutered canon femslash

Well, I was a Xena fan from early childhood, so xD. I watched episodes as they were shown on tv, so I've never actually watched it the whole thing, and I should definitely remedy that.

2) First times you encountered femslash shipping

Circa 11 years old, when I first started lurking in the Buffyverse fandom.

3) Is femslash the main part of your fandom life?

Fandom-wise it might be more balanced, if only because in what's been my main fandom for over a year now (and most active fandom ever), aka DC comics, my best beloved characters happens to be a guy. I post and love a lot of het ships too (rn the ratio on my ao3 fics is 45 F/F, 42 F/M, I just looked lol).

Femslash is however extremely dominant in my original fiction. I write about women first and foremost, about the relationships between them, of any all of types, and if there's romance, it's 99% guaranteed to be F/F. I might utterly fall in love with (admittedly very few) male characters created by OTHER people (primary examples being Jason Todd or Black Sails' John Silver), but my personal creativity is extremely biased towards women LMAO.

4) Have you already started a canon just because you knew there would be femslash shipping opportunities?

Nah, not really. Sometimes a femslash ship reblogged on tumblr caught my eye, yes, but I need more than that to give a canon a try. Especially because my shipping preferences rarely are aligned with that of the rest of the fandom. I even made an ask meme about it once: give me a popular F/F ship, and I'll tell you which antagonistic F/F alternative I vastly prefer xDD

5) Canon, subtext, or make-everything-work-by-yourself ships?

It definitely depends, though I'd say most of my femslash ships are probably on the subtext territory first, canon second. In general, I need a canon push to become interested in a ship, with some exceptions. I like it when characters are important to each other, one way or another!

6) A femslash ship you feel like you're alone in shipping

I know there were a few other shippers around, but Rosita Bustillos/Waverly Earp (which I named Rosewaves on tumblr) definitely fits. Especially because it seems people shipped it as like... a nice rarepair to multiship alongside Waverly's canon relationship, and I could NOT care less for that one LMAO. I was ALL about Rosewaves, and I would've paid real money to see it be the show's ship instead of Wayhaugh.

7) Did you see a change in femslash fandom since the time you started fandom?

I didn't see as much of this... defanged, toothless, out-of-convenience-only femslash shipping when I started. Because homophobia xD, but also the trends in fandom misogyny. Before it was all about WHAT A BITCH the female characters in question were for getting in the way of my slash ship/being the object of interest of the guy EYE find hot/not being a perfect fluffer/whatever.

Now instead of insulting and bashing the woman, because that would make them Look Bad, it's all about how she's the BESTIE, the fujoshi, and sometimes, how ACTUALLY!!! she's a lesbian (even when she's shown no hint of it and often her life revolves around men in a way I'd find insulting for a lesbian character, tbqh)!!! ew how can you ship her with MEN who are UNWORTHY of her!! Nonono, let's pair her with this other woman (often someone she wouldn't be interested in in a million years, but okay) and put them in the background, being generic as fuck.

BUT. I don't really consider this as part of The Femslash Fandom, because again, this is Convenience Shipping and nothing that actually puts the care into the characters involved.

8) Some femslash poly ships? What are your opinions about f/f/m poly?

One of my longest original WIPs will involve a F/F/F triangle/messy triad, so there's that xD

In fandom I rarely seem to go for it? In general I ship things 1-on-1, it's how I like it lol, that kind of... claustrophobia. The few polyships I've been REALLY into (like Jason/Mia/Tim at the moment) were F/F/M or F/M/M.

I think in part it's because in general I prefer Triangulation Drama TM in my femslash over the classic Let's Solve Things With Polyshipping. If there's a set-up with more than two female characters with sexual an emotional tension between them, I'm more likely to want them to fight about it lol. Tbf that's also semi-present in my other poly configurations but. I REALLY want F/F conflict lol.

9) Do you feel like shipping femslash is different from shipping slash, het or other? How?

It's different in the sense that you better get used to be a minority in fandom and all that it entails LOL. Otherwise you'll be endlessly frustrated.

10) Favourites tropes for femslash ships?

One of my favourite things is older/younger woman configurations where the older one sees ~her younger self in the other and that configures how the relationship takes form (resentment? Protectiveness?). In general, "mirror" characters pair really well in F/F imo.

11) Fluff, humor, angst, or smut?

Angst is my area of expertise, though I definitely mix in the others. A little flavour makes the angst even sadder xD

12) Are there some m/m or m/f ships that you love genderswapped as f/f?

I'm not much for genderswapping, but I have done it once: a Pepper/Tony fic. Except it's based on the fact that Marvel *did* create a continuity where Tony was a woman. Generally speaking, if a given male character was genderswapped from the start, I would've probably liked them MORE lol, given my usual patterns, but the times I *really* like a male character... I like them as is and their gender and how they interact with it is usually a feature of it, not a bug, because it happens to be interesting on its own. 

13) Did you already write original femslash? If so, what was it about? If not, what would it be about if you did? If you would never, why?

Nothing complete that I've shared (well, some in an old writeblr, but that was deleted), but as I said, this is my primary interest in original fiction. Some of the examples in my original stories, for your amusement:
  • stylish butch former pirate/princess + messy former assassin have a ons and then end up in the same space ship.
  • powerful witch + her codependent best friend + a third woman who becomes enamoured with the first before everything goes sideways and has a hate/hate realtionship with the second before they slowly fall for each other.
  • immortal scholar + the also immortal woman who's in unrequited love with her and wants her to kill her.
  • secretary of a hardboiled detective that actually does the job and can hear echoes of the dead + the femme fatale who seduced her and used her + the sob-sister serious journalist wannabe investigating them.
  • newest victim of a serial abuser + his former flame he still pines for. 
  • doomed woman with little time to live + the butch princess she's obsessed with ever since she was kind to her once. 
  • theatre diva with a dwindling career + the femmish literal angel who wants to become her.
  • whatever the fuck is going with all the women in Underground Elysium which includes: the dictator, her ever-faithful guard, her human maid she regards as little more than a pet but gets horny for her vampire bites, the tyrant's rival who hates her for that one time she mutilated her, the rival's daughter who she groomed to beat the dictator, and a couple more others.
  • many, MANY more lol.
14) Favorite femslash ship of all times

I couldn't pick just one, but I just finished reading Gideon the Ninth and Griddlehark has me on a chokehold at the moment. I need to finish the other two books before I allow it to consume me, though. I don't want spoilers or misinterpretations on my part xD

15) A guilty pleasure

N/A.

16) A fandom where I have so many femslash ships

DC comics is definitely high on the list, even if 1.) I think ultimately I have more het ones, or at least they're pretty level, and 2.) given how many women I love there, and how many possible combinations there are, it's very unsurprising.

17) A femslash pairing I like on principle without even being in the fandom

I have yet to start Interview with The Vampire, but I think I'll like Claudia and Madeleine.

18) A character I headcanon as lesbian/wlw without having big ships with her

Quite a few, probably, but the first one that came to my mind was Mary Winchester from Supernatural. I ship her with a few characters, but it's more lowkey than my desire to indulge in HOW FUCKED UP it'd be if she was a lesbian.

19) Rec day! Canon or fics, as long as it's femslash! Or even shippable!
  • In Pursuit of Perfection by Camilla Andrew. Doomed, unbalanced femslash pair between an ambitious imperatrice and her too loyal warrior. Its sequels, though they have a central F/M ship, offer plenty of F/F possibilities, including an exes pair turned complicated best friends that mirrors this one.
  • DEFINITELY check out The Locked Tomb because the F/F possibilities there are off-the-charts. Griddlehart has my heart but Ianthe/Corona broke my brain negl. 
  • Red by resnullius-bells. Camilla/Laura ficlet with a Snow White/Sleeping Beauty vibe.
  • I do love Carmilla as a novel as well LOL.
There's so much more but I'm drawing a blank here, guys xD. Some books/films/etc. I'm gonna recommend for femslash shpping, canon or not, Just Because: Shirley Jackson's The Haunting of Hill House, Marjorie Liu's Monstress, Nikita, Person of Interest, Dangerous Liaisons, Judd Winick's Outsiders (2003), Paper Girls (comic and show, even cancelled as it is), The Handmaiden, Black Swan, Black Sails (the dyke drama in this one is SO important), or Killjoys.

20) Do you like your femslash homophobia-free?

If it's a secondary-world that pulls it off well, I welcome it. If it's our world? At this point I want to shout BRING IN THE HOMOPHOBIA ñalskfjaf. Well-done, of course, but I think that certain attitudes about it are less about wanting an homophobia-free world than about like... having trouble with any conflict more difficult than who takes the last orange home in the supermarket, and with wanting the straight characters to Look Good.

21) Thoughts about lesbian tragedy and bad endings?

Given how history has evolved there's obviously issues present, but... I think queer authors especially need room to freely want what they want to write. I'm a lesbian who loves writing about lesbians, and I love a good tragedy.

22) Thoughts about (purely fictional!) lesbian unhealthy relationships?

They are amazing and we should all support them wholeheartedly.

23) Historical, fantasy or sci-fi? (or, if none of the above, what and why?)

Love all of it and more.

24) A time where a canon really surprised you, in a good (and femslash) way

I'm gonna go with Black Sails and Max/Eleanor. I expected to outright dislike it, and yet I absolutely love everything about it.

25) A time where a canon really disappointed you (in a femslash or lack of femslash way)

Too many to count lol. I'm picking Wynonna Earp for the absolutely mid toothless main ship.

26) What do you love the most, and what do you love the least, about femslash fans?

They're passionate and committed to something that, lbr, gives little reward lol.

As for what I like least... the very few times a femslash ship happens to be MASSIVE? They're just as awful as every other fanbase of a juggernaut ship. Absolutely no difference, and equal ammounts of racism each and every time.

27) Very last time you encountered canon femslash. Was it a surprise or were you looking for it?

Again, I just read Gideon the Ninth, a novel from a series openly marketed as "dyke drama" xD

28) Now answer the important question about femslash I've forgotten to ask.

You didn't forget, but I'm taking this as an opportunity to link to all my F/F fics LOL.


queenslayerbee: Mia Dearden winking and making finger guns with both hands. (mia dearden (dc comics))
Yesterday I read Wonder Woman Historia. I loved it. I'd almost go as far as saying it's reconcilled me with modern comics. Now whenever DC Does Some Bullshit I'll just hold my physical copy of it (it'll arrive in June) and touch is infinitely beautiful artwork and all will feel right in the world.
 
Anyway. Wonder Woman Historia is a fantastic comic and you guys should read it and give it attention so DC greenlights the rest of the run (which otherwise stands on its own), but that's not the point of the post.
 
The point is that the third issue made a choice that might, would have likely bothered me in another context, by another author. but it wasn't the case here, and I've been thinking about why that is.
 
(spoilers for #3, ig).
 
Trying to keep it brief: in Wonder Woman (1987) #1, we're told the story of how Herakles and his men tricked the Amazons, drugged them, and slaved them. How they raped them, how Herakles took Hippolyta's girdle as a war prize. Hippolyta prays to the gods, who free her and ask her that the amazons don't violently retaliate against their captors, and when that doesn't happen, the Amazons are punished for it.
 
This one goes differently; there's no mass rape and enslavement (the way the Amazons are robbed of their freedom happens in a different, quite interesting way, btw). Herakles, sent by the gods, attacks, and the leader of each Amazon tribe fights him, subduing him and killing him all together. Hippolyta's "girdle" here is a mere rope she had around her waist, now used to tie the bag holding Herakles's dismembered body as it's flown towards Olympus (which was meant as a more respectful gesture than what the Amazons did to other men they killed to save and avenge brutalised women).
 
The writing even makes a point of it, saying that we, the audience, might've heard different stories of how Herakles "got" Hippolyta's girdle.
 
I think in a different story, this change would bother me. I would wonder (and in some cases I would different sense) if there was an implication than the rape of the Amazons makes them lesser in the eyes of the author, when it says absolutely nothing about them as people. It's just something that happened to them, and that's how I think it should be treated.

I didn't sense any of it here, first of all, because of the way the story as a whole writes women; all women, from the goddesses (including Hera, who Zeus explicitly abuses and batters), to the thirty original Amazons born from the souls of women murdered by men, to most importantly, the seventh tribe, Hippolyta's. All made of mortal women who escaped some horror by men; women like Hippolyta, who barely escaped murder, or who were about to be sold as slaves. Wronged, hurt, mutilated women. They're all upheld as entire entities, by and for themselves, not defined let alone made less by the actions of others.

The story highlights patriarchal misogyny as the primary wrong that it is (Hera's desperate fury when she says women won't get justice a thousand years from now was !!!); something that men, mortal and gods alike, utterly dismiss as unimportant. It never handwrings about the wrongs of revenge and retribution or trying to tell us they're remotely equal. Its simpathy is firmly located with the women, even when they make dubious or difficult choices. The (male) gods's punishment upon them is framed as an injustice.
 
The other important bit is how it writes Herakles. When I think of other stories that go out of their way to remove rape from the picture I think of cases like
this, like the endless romantic retellings about Hades and Persephone.
 
The choices made in those are always about the Hades of the tale. About cleaning up his image, in the end. But Historia doesn't even come close to doing this with Herakles: it's very clear what he would've done to the Amazons if he'd gotten the chance (Hippolyta puts it explicitly into words, when she says he would've defiled them). Hell, the version of canon where he indubitably raped Hippolyta romanticises them a lot more (George Perez turn on your location so I can tell you how much I love your comics AND endlessly berate you for this).
 
But also, ngl. As DC's Herakles #1 hater... I just loved seeing him be torn to pieces. That was very cathartic, honestly. It's exactly what he deserves <333

queenslayerbee: Mia Dearden winking and making finger guns with both hands. (mia dearden (dc comics))
Last week was Cassandra Cain Week on tumblr, and I wrote a ficlet for each day:

Banner made with panels taken from Batgirl volume 1 issue 9 that progressively close in on Cass's face, as she faces Shiva, who's offered to help Cass regain her fighting skills in exchange for a death match in a year. The first one shows her from the shoulders up (she is wearing a black turtleneck and her neck-long hair down); the second one shows a close-up to her profile; the third one shows Shiva's reflection on her eye.  In the white spaces between panels, "Cass Cain / Week 2025) has been written vertically.
  • (I) – marredScars | Flowers + Cass/Steph. 100 words. Angst, post-breakup.
  • (II) – oracle’s long: day 43 of no man’s landAlone | Together + Barbara & Cass. 200 words. First meeting.
  • (III) – the touch of a ghostSilence | Music + Brenda/Cass. 300 words. One Year Later, angst with a happy ending.
  • (IV) – we are lion’s cubsQuotes | Comic Panels + Cass & Helena. 400 words. One Year Later, teacher!Helena.
  • (V) – accomplicesDeath | Rebirth + Cass & Jason. 500 words. Cass’s time on the streets, catatonic!Jason.
  • (VI) – dance of the little swansPast | Future + Cass & Duke. 600 words. Cassbats & Robin!Duke, dance teacher!Cass.
  • (VII) – unmotherly instinctsHappy Birthday | Free Day + Cass & Shiva. 700 words. Cass remained with David Cain AU. Implied sexual abuse/incest.


And here I'll c&p my Three Sentences Ficathon prompts, in case they tempt anyone 👉👈
queenslayerbee: Isabelle Adjany as Lucy Harker in 1979's "Nosferatu the Vampire". She's surrounded by darkness, looking over her shoulder while she wears a white nightgown and a cross as a necklace. A hand with long nails like a claw is reaching for her neck from the darkness behind her. (Default)
Challenge #15

Talk about an unexpected joyous moment you experienced last year.

Snowflake Challenge promotional banner with image of skier kicking up snow on a snow white background. Text: Snowflake Challenge January 1-31.

Without getting into too much detail, last year in the summer I received news that I got entry into a very sought-after course for university graduates -one particularly geared towards my own professional area/goals. The course was from October to December and everything it promised to be. I sent my curriculum not expecting much, but I had nothing to lose (the course is also free btw), so I went with it and luck was on my side lol. 

Over the last year I also made a lot of new friends in the DC fandom, especially on the Jaymia side of things, and it's nice to have people you can shoot the shit there. Its a fandom filled with annoying discourse and sometimes you just want to bitch about it in the chat for a few moments xD

All in all, though 2024 was a very mixed year in other respects, I managed to find some good things there.
queenslayerbee: Isabelle Adjany as Lucy Harker in 1979's "Nosferatu the Vampire". She's surrounded by darkness, looking over her shoulder while she wears a white nightgown and a cross as a necklace. A hand with long nails like a claw is reaching for her neck from the darkness behind her. (Default)
Challenge #14

In your own space, create your own fandom challenge. Post your answer to today’s challenge in your own space and leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.

Snowflake Challenge promotional banner with image of gingerbread Christmas trees, a silver ball, a tea light candle and a white confectionary snowflake on a beige falling-snowflakes background. Text: Snowflake Challenge January 1-31.

I'm going to rescue a prompt list from my old writeblr. You can send me one of these words and, optionally, a fandom (you can look at my sticky post for inspiration), and I'll write a short drabble/ficlet with it.

PROMPT LIST

  1. Abomination
  2. Astral
  3. Bewitching
  4. Blazing
  5. Bucolic
  6. Candor
  7. Catharsis
  8. Chrysalis
  9. Colossal
  10. Crescendo
  11. Dalliance
  12. Dauntless
  13. Diaphanous
  14. Elixir
  15. Eloquent
  16. Euphoric
  17. Flourish
  18. Fortitude
  19. Furtive
  20. Harbinger
  21. Holiness
  22. Invincible
  23. Jubilation
  24. Labyrinth
  25. Languor
  26. Lyrical
  27. Mellow
  28. Minutiae
  29. Murmur
  30. Omnipotent
  31. Opulent
  32. Panacea
  33. Paradisiac
  34. Penumbra
  35. Petrichor
  36. Pyrrhic
  37. Quietude
  38. Rapturous
  39. Ripple
  40. Serendipitous
  41. Solitude
  42. Subterfuge
  43. Symphony
  44. Talisman
  45. Thunderous
  46. Verity
  47. Vulnerable
  48. Wanderlust
  49. Yearn
  50. Zenith



Challenge #13 was about interacting with someone new, so I didn't make a post, but that I posted a few fills to the Three Sentences Ficathon, one of which fit the bill, a Rosita Bustillos/Waverly Earp drabble that took me right back to one of my old favourites :')
queenslayerbee: Isabelle Adjany as Lucy Harker in 1979's "Nosferatu the Vampire". She's surrounded by darkness, looking over her shoulder while she wears a white nightgown and a cross as a necklace. A hand with long nails like a claw is reaching for her neck from the darkness behind her. (batcat (batman returns))
Challenge #12 Create a Rec Countdown. Post your answer to today’s challenge in your own space and leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.

a white curve at the top, red below with sequin effect snowflake shapes text snowflake challenge january 1 - 31 in red thin marker pen font on the white curve

 
The post offered a handy list of examples to use, but in the spirit of other rec lists I've made in this journal, I'll post only *one* example of each (and then some).
  • ONE book everyone should read: I read Deathless by Catherynne M. Valente last month. The prose and imagery are absolutely enthrancing, and I love the way it grounds the myth in a historical reality. I live for that shit ngl.
  • ONE comic everyone should read: Bruce Wayne: Murderer?/Fugitive is THEE arc to get that guy. Really, really good. I want to punch his face in añdslfkjasf.
  • ONE song everyone should hear: "In Every Dream Home a Heartache" by Roxy Music.
  • ONE movie everyone should watch: last Sunday I finally got around watching Hitchcock's Rope. Quite interesting and layered, as what (tragically) little I've seen of his.
  • ONE tv show everyone should watch: Nikita (2009). Do it. I'm doing you a favour rn. That's the best female lead from this century.
  • ONE game everyone should play: getting into videogames remains in my to-do list lol, but whenever I'm with my mother, the Rummy comes out. 
  • ONE fanwork everyone should read: I'm going to recommend A Bat and a Reporter Break Into a Warehouse by HMSLusitania, because it put the idea of a Lois Lane & Tim Drake team-up in my head and that's a WONDERFUL thought to have. 
  • ONE creator everyone should check out: my dear friend Camilla Andrew. She's an indie author whose books I've talked up here before. At the moment she has published the first two parts of a trilogy (with the third one scheduled for this year) about a delightfully doomed romance in an intricately built secondary fantasy world, a short novella/prequel about a harrowing tale of revenge, and a couple of short stories in magazines (one in that same world). She has beautiful prose and a varied array of superbly written female characters that always get to shine.
  • ONE community everyone should join: I'd recommend Get Your Words Out for writers, but it's too late to join in this year (there's always the next one). So I'll tell you guys to come around the Three Sentences Ficathon, where I just posted yet more prompts lol (page 20 :P).
  • ONE rec by myself: we've crossed the equator in the Cassandra Cain Week and I've posted four ficlets so far, of 100 (Stephcass), 200 (Barbara & Cass), 300 (Cassbrenda), and 400 words (Cass & Helena) respectively (I'm doing a Thing). Three more left! The ficlets that are left will be about Cass & Jason, Cass & Duke Thomas (as adapted to my new earth headcanons), and... Cass & Shiva. I'll crosspost a masterlist when it's done!
 

queenslayerbee: Isabelle Adjany as Lucy Harker in 1979's "Nosferatu the Vampire". She's surrounded by darkness, looking over her shoulder while she wears a white nightgown and a cross as a necklace. A hand with long nails like a claw is reaching for her neck from the darkness behind her. (batcat (batman returns))
Challenge #11

In your own space, share your love for a trope, cliché, kink, motif, or theme. Post your answer to today’s challenge in your own space and leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.

Snowflake Challenge promotional banner with image of ice covered tree branches and falling snowflakes on a blue background. Text: Snowflake Challenge January 1-31.

When it comes to character relationships, I pay a lot of attention to First Meetings. 

I'm not one for slow burns. I know, I know. They're a deeply beloved trope in fandom, and I've heard all the reasons why. But I have rarely met one that works for me (I've liked pairings *described* as slowurn that I'd never classify as such, but that's another thing). They're simply... too placid. The more intense a dynamic is, the better. Because that means they'll move mountains or, in this case, the narrative, along. And more often than not, this is decided on the very first scene, or the very first scene of a pairing alone together. 

These first meetings don't have to be Good to pack a punch, which is why The Meet Ugly might be my favourite trope in existence. What matters is that they change things around. There's a before and and after. I'd personally find the idea of meeting someone changing me so much terrifying, but it sure works in a story!

I've talked pairing, but I mean platonic dynamics as well. Memorable first meetings carry the narrative on their backs. If two characters don't need to be convinced into caring for one another (or hating the other so much it circles back around), then there's no pussyfooting around and we can get into the interesting things right away.

It's why Love At First Sight works so well, even if we all knowwwwwww things don't really work like that (must we always bring reality into it smh). You believe Romeo and Juliet do All of That Shit because they are In Love. The real story can get started while someone else is on a will-they-won't-they that barely makes me believe they like each other (I just can't believe they'd do *nothing* if it mattered to them that much!). 

And the chemistry!! When two characters instantly click, the entire scene is alight with it in all the best ways. I wouldn't trade that for anything. These guys don't wander; the romantic pairings often kiss and fuck quickly; sexual harmony is usually a big part of their appeal (EVEN when they don't have sex, or they only get to have it one. Sometimes, especially if they only get to have it once LOL).

So, yeah. Intense First Meeting. Meet Ugly. Love At First Sight. They work. They're marvelous narrative devices. I'll take them all.  
queenslayerbee: Lisa simpson dressed in a multicoloured baggy shirt, with a sideways cap and sunglasses, and a disaffected look on her face. (lisa simpson (the simpsons))
Challenge #10

In your own space, talk about one of your fandom firsts. This could be your first fandom, your first fandom friend, the first fanwork you created, the first fanwork you interacted with... The options are endless! Leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.

Snowflake Challenge promotional banner with image of metallic snowflake and ornaments. Text: Snowflake Challenge January 1-31.

I talked a bit about some fandom firsts in a past entry (mainly pertaining to my first active fandom a few years ago, the Shadowhunters tv show), so I wanted to talk about something different.

A few years ago, for Femslash February, I decided to open my inbox to prompts and to write 28 f/f drabbles of 100 words for the month. And I did it! Given how inconsistent I can be in such extended goals, that was a first on its own LOL. It also marked the beginning of my taste for drabble-writing in general. Of 100 fics posted, close to half of them have been drabbles (sometimes double/triple/quintuple/etc.) drabbles, sometimes by entering challenges like Seasons of Drabbles, but mostly by challenging myself, like during that month or with last year's Three Sentences Ficathon.

(Today I finally got time to go over this year's posts to identify tropes that catch my eye... soon I'll be at it again. And writing more drabbles for other challenges, too).

Another fun first was in 2022, where I got two one-shots (sfw and nsfw) published in a Black Sails fanzine, which I was pretty proud of. You can find the downloable versions in the ao3 collection, if you're interested.

Anyone else got an odd fandom first they want to share?
queenslayerbee: Isabelle Adjany as Lucy Harker in 1979's "Nosferatu the Vampire". She's surrounded by darkness, looking over her shoulder while she wears a white nightgown and a cross as a necklace. A hand with long nails like a claw is reaching for her neck from the darkness behind her. (Default)
Challenge #9

In your own space, create a fanwork. Leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.

an ice snowflake against a blue background text snowflake challenge near the top in blended text

Yesterday I couldn't finish this challenge because I went out with friends and stayed late watching a film with them (Red Sparrow. Not a particularly good film, but Jennifer Lawrence's character had chemistry with her uncle, if that's your short of thing. The uncle is played by Matthias Schoenaerts, who I didn't recognise until the very end, because shaved he looks like a completely different person).

Anyway. Here are a few icons of Lady Shiva! A few from Richard Dragon: Kung-Fu Fighter, her debut run, but mostly from her appearances in The Question.

Screenshot from the cover of Richard Dragon: Kung-Fu Fighter issue 5. Over a red background, Shiva jumps kicks Richard Dragon's chest. She's wearing a green set of loose long sleeved shirt and pants, with a deep cleavage and a golden belt, as well as a golden bandana in her hair and large circular golden earrings. Richard wears a dogi. The cover announces "Her name is Lady Shiva... and she hates Dragon's guts!"

Icons (200x200 this time) behind the triangle.
Screenshot from Richard Dragon: Kung-Fu Fighter issue 5. Shiva stands proudly, seen from the chest up. She has her long black hair down, with a red bandana on top, and two large circular earrings, and she wears a long sleeved green shirt put together with a large belt. Screenshot from Richard Dragon: Kung-Fu Fighter issue 5. Lady Shiva has a fierce expression as she punches Richard Dragon in the face (with an effect saying "KRAK"), and tells him "Will you beg... pig?" Screenshot from Richard Dragon: Kung-Fu Fighter issue 18.Lady Shiva looking down, judgemental. She wears similar clothes, but the bandana is striped, the earrings are larger, and she wears a blue shirt and cape showing a deep cleavage.
Screenshot from The Question issue 1. Close up to her serious expression. This time she has pixie short hair, wearing golden chain earrings that reach her jaw, and some eye and lip makeup. She's saying "You are half right." Screenshot from The Question issue 2. Close up to Shiva's profile. She has the same pixie cut still, no jewels, a black tank top, and a vaguely amused expression as she holds a maroon fan close to her face, which she uses during a fight scene. Screenshot from The Question Annual 1. Shiva has her hair longer, barely reaching her shoulders, cut in layers and voluminous. She's wearing smaller, golden earrings, barely visible, and a red jacket, this time. She looks unimpressed.
Screenshot from The Question Annual 1. Close-up to Shiva's amused expression. She's holding a gun close to her face, and says "Take another shot now." before giving it to her oponent. Screenshot from The Question Annual 1. Close-up to Shiva's face, as a lock of hair falls over her forehead. This time one of her earrings is visible: golden skulls. Screenshot from The Question issue 28. Shiva from the chest up, wearing a sleeveless pink top with a high neckline, hair long and layered below her shoulder. She has one arm extended, hand making a fist, and the oder crossed over her chest, palm open, ready to fight.
Screenshot from The Question issue 29. Close up to Shiva's profile. Her hair is flowing around her face, in the wind, and she wears various yellow beads adoring it. The neckline of her purple coat is visible. She wears a serious expression. Screenshot from The Question issue 37. Shiva, seen from the chest up. She has long, layered hair and bangs and red lipstic. She's taking out a fucsia scarf, and still wearing a black shirt and a leather coat over it. She looks challenging and vaguely amused. Screenshot from The Question issue 37. Shiva and Renee Montoya stand in the rain. Renee, with a pixie short hair and a white tank top, hovers over Shiva, who's crouched down just a bit after getting shot in the arm. Shiva has her long hair down and wears a black tank top.
 
 

I wholeheartedly recommend looking her up in these runs, btw. She's in Richard Dragon: Kung-Fu Fighter #5-18, and in #1-2, Annual #1, #28-31 and #36-37 of The Question. The Annual is preceeded by Detective Comics Annual #1 and Green Arrow vol. 2 Annual #1, which also include delightful Shiva appearances.

queenslayerbee: anthropomorphic image of an artificial intelligence, mixed with faded images of computer interior parts. (artificial intelligence (the redstart's)
Challenge #8

In your own space, write a promo, manifesto or primer for a beloved character, relationship or fandom. Leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.

 
a gold coloured path through snow covered woodland text snowflake challenge january 1 - 31 in pale yellow fine marker font acros the centre.

I'm kind of desperate for more people to watch (or to find more people who've already watched) "The Expanse" xD

Right now, I'm in the middle of a rewatch of the whole thing; in French, this time LOL. I basically learnt English this way, so I might as well attempt it again.

And it's so good! It's truly a show you can sink your teeth into. The show offers quality in all its aspects: plot, worldbuilding, character. The premise is simple ("A thriller set two hundred years in the future, The Expanse follows the case of a missing young woman who brings a hardened detective and a rogue ship’s captain together in a race across the solar system to expose the greatest conspiracy in human history"), but it grows so, so much from there. 

I will forever praise its female characters, especially. I have a soft spot for Holden and an even bigger one for Amos (he, Wolfgang from sense8, John Murphy and Jason Todd appeal a very particular part of my psyche), but the women and their arcs are on another level. All of them unique, from all walks of life; remarkable and written fantastically as individuals, going far beyond the archetypes audiences would have inevitably expected them to fulfill.
 
Chrisjen Avasarala, a powerful high member of Earth's government, and her elegance, her ruthlessness, her arrogance, her competence. Camina Drummer, a freedom fighter from the downthrodden people in the asteroid belt, and her righteousness, her yearning, her dignity, her creativity. Bobbie Draper, a Martian marine, and her defiance, her adaptability, her dutifulness. Clarissa Mao, a former socialite, and the quiet desperation and assertivitity of her journey. Julie Mao and her tragedy. And other, maybe less central ones but each with a key part to play. Like Monica Stuart, sharp and full of integrity and a worthy heir of Lois Lane herself; Elvi Okoye representing the best face of scientific curiosity; Anna Volovodov's rectitude and eagerness to explore. And on and on and on.

But the one that will remain with me for the longest time will be Naomi Nagata. 

It's difficult to talk about her, because the part I appreciate the most pertains the last couple of seasons, and the culmination of her journey in them. And I think those are best to watch unspoiled, as I did. I have never seen motherhood been treated the way that part of her character was; the choices taking, the framing of them never losing its compassion, and I doubt I ever will again. 

It's a slow show. The plot takes its time to build up, the subgenres it uses make it a bit of a niche interest (sci-fi in space, but quite grounded and confined; pseudo-dystopian, but in a too-close-to-home way). I know all the reasons why, good or not, it could not be Someone's Thing and I could list them all, but if any of the above sounds interesting, I recommend giving it a try. 

Profile

queenslayerbee: Isabelle Adjany as Lucy Harker in 1979's "Nosferatu the Vampire". She's surrounded by darkness, looking over her shoulder while she wears a white nightgown and a cross as a necklace. A hand with long nails like a claw is reaching for her neck from the darkness behind her. (Default)
escritorzuela

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 23 4 5 67
8 9 1011 1213 14
15 16 17 18 19 2021
22232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 08:39 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios